The Fifty Bookish Questions Book Tag

Being relatively new to the book blogging community, I have only just come across ‘book tags’. Book tags are a list of book related questions that the blogger answers. The question series can be relatively simple about books in general and the book blogger, like the book tag I am going to be doing today. Others are related to a theme i.e. the Beauty and the Beast book tag or the Taylor Swift book tag, where the questions relate to the subject matter and you fill in the blanks with a book that fits. For example, one question in the Beauty and the Beast book tag asks you to write an example where opposites attract. A possible answer would be about Jack and Libby from Jennifer Niven’s Holding Up the Universe. 

The tag I am doing today, The Fifty Questions Book Tag, is one that I saw on My Little Book Blog. Often, you are tagged by the blogger to complete the book tag. I wasn’t tagged in this but I am going to do it anyway because it looks fun 🙂

1. What was the last book you read?

The last book I read was The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

2. Was it a good one?

Short answer – Yes! It is a brilliant YA debut novel inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement.

3. What made it good?

It navigates sensitive political issues while including entertaining characters and ‘normal’ teenage problems. The plot progresses quickly and there are numerous plot lines keeping you engaged.

4. Would you recommend it to other people?

Definitely! I would really recommend everyone read The Hate U Give because it is a truly significant novel and has the power to change your perspective. (Read my full review)

5. How often do you read?

Aside from the occasional reading slump, I read all the time. I am on the tube and bus a lot, which are great opportunities for reading.

6. Do you like to read?

Yes, yes and, obviously, yes.

7.What was the last bad book you read?

I recently read Out of Heart, a YA book that had raving reviews. Unfortunately, something just didn’t click with me.

8. What made you dislike it?

I feel like I’m missing something because I recognise the debut as unique and important but, honestly, it fell flat to me… The plot was odd and progressed too slowly to hold my interest.

9. Do you wish to be a writer?

Yes, it is a dream job, but also no, because I don’t think I have the required talent.

10. Has any book every influenced you greatly?

Most books I have read influence me strongly. I think every different perspective I read slightly alters my life perspective and makes me that much more empathetic and understanding.

11. Do you read fan fiction?

I have not. There isn’t really any reason I haven’t except for the fact that I don’t want to spend time looking through posts to find really great writing to immerse myself in.

12. Do you write fan fiction?

I don’t, but I do see this as being the one way I could be a writer. I struggle to come up with a fully formed, unique idea for a story, but I definitely have opinions about those that already exist.

13. What’s your favorite book?

The classic insane question for a book-lover… Overall, the Harry Potter series is my favourite story, but I have loved countless books. For example, I love Philippa Gregory’s The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels and the debut My Name is Leon. 

14. What’s your least favorite book?

I can’t think of one. There are several books I have struggled to get into, like Out of Heart, but I can’t remember them to name them.

15. Do you prefer physical books or ready on a device (like a kindle)?

Physical books all the way. I will be writing a post about my views on the book vs. e-book debate because I see arguments for both sides. But, I much prefer to hold a book, stroke its cover and turn its pages. But, I think e-readers are very useful. I use my Kindle when I go on holiday, and sometimes for travelling on the tube.

16. When did you learn to read?

Huh… I actually don’t know, I should ask my parents. I know I was quite young, probably about 4? I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t reading.

17. What is your favorite book you had to read in school?

I really enjoyed Z for Zacharia and Animal Farm. In high school we read a lot of plays which I loved, like A Streetcar Named Desire and The Taming of the Shrew.

18. What is your favorite book series?

Harry Potter definitely. I devoured the books and I have been listening to the audiobooks on repeat since I was about 8. I really love series. I hate when a book that I’m into ends, so it is a great feeling to know that when you turn the last page the story is going to continue.

19. Who is your favorite author?

Wow. No idea. Authors’ styles and techniques are so different I think it is impossible to compare. I really like Kit de Waal’s style, Philippa Gregory, J.K. Rowling (of course), and Kristy Woodson Harvey.

20. What is your favorite genre?

Another difficult one! I go in waves. I read biographies, historical fiction, YA, crime / thriller, and commercial women’s fiction.

21. Who is your favorite character in a book series?

In a book series… probably Hermione – she has it all, intelligence, spunk, bravery, wit and compassion.

22. Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

Yes, every well-written book I read transports me to a different environment.

23.Which book do you wish had a sequel?

Pretty much every book that I enjoy.

24. Which book do you wish DIDNT have a sequel?

That is tricky because I love series. I think the Divergent series went a bit downhill, but I am still happy the story continued because I always want to find out more.

25. How long does it take you to read a book?

That really depends on the style of writing and my workload at the time. If I am not too busy, generally a few days to a week. But if i am on vacation I read a book or two a day.

26. Do you like when books become movies?

Another that depends. Again, I love for stories to continue so I like to see the story in another medium. Often the books are adapted so it is like seeing a slightly different story with the same characters. But, I do get very disappointed when I feel like the movie has misused characters or left out crucial scenes.

27. Which book was ruined by its movie adaptation?

Maybe, The Fault in Our Stars to an extentAlso, I haven’t watched Me Before You because I have a hunch it will ruin the book.

28. Which movie has done a book justice?

I am going to agree with the answer My Little Book Blog gave. I was really impressed by the film version of PS I Love You.

29. Do you read newspapers?

Sometimes. In the evenings, The Evening Standard is given out for free at London tube stations. I often grab a copy and read it on my journey. Otherwise, I don’t read physical newspapers. But I do read the BBC regularly on my BBC app.

30: Do you read magazines?

Not for a long time. My mom still buys magazines occasionally so if I am visiting her I sometimes peruse them, but I have never bought one for myself.

31. Do you prefer newspapers or magazines?

Definitely newspapers. I think it is really important to be informed about current events. Magazines are fun but I see a lot of the clothing / makeup content on social media.

32. Do you read while in bed?

Yes. Although not as often as might be expected. I prefer to read on public transport or during the day on my balcony.

33. Do you read while on the toilet?

No. Odd question.

34. Do you read while in the car?

All the time. I love love love to read in the car. A lot of my childhood memories are of being in the car with my family, reading.

35. Do you read while in the bath?

Sigh. When I had a bath, yes. Sadly, for the last few years, I have been in apartments with no bath. But, when I was younger, I loved to read in the bath. I had one of those stands that goes across the tub that gives you a place to rest your book. It is treacherous though… When I was 7 I dropped a school library book in the bath… After a lot of blowdrying, it was alright, but its pages distinctly rippled.

36. Are you a fast reader?

Pretty fast, yes.

37. Are you a slow reader?

Redundant, but no.

38. Where is your favorite place to read?

On a train, or in a bus or car. There is something about the feeling of movement that I find comforting.

39. Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

Sometimes – it depends on the book and on the environment. If I am really into the book then, no.

40. Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

No. I find it easy to read in silence or in a crowded room. But, I do hate an in-between. I struggle to read when the environment is mostly quiet except for one or two loud voices, because I find myself listening to their conversation.

41. Who gave you your love for reading?

My parents. The have always felt strongly about the importance of reading, and when my sister and I grew up, they said we couldn’t have as many toys or games etc. as we wanted (obviously), but that they would never say no to books. Even though we went through books at an alarming rate, my parents never did say no us asking for more books. This is something I am extremely grateful to them for.

42. What book is next on your list to read?

At the moment, I am working on my master’s dissertation on YA fiction, so I will be reading numerous bestsellers. But, I have many books waiting on my bookshelf, including Homegoing and the Girl with All the Gifts.

43. When did you start to read chapter books?

I am not sure. I believe around the age of 6.

44. Who is your favorite children’s book author?

I really don’t know. I loved A. A. Milne’s Winne the Pooh, Valerie Thomas’ Winnie the Witch, Peggy Parish’s Amelia Bedelia and Sam McBratney’s Guess How Much I Love You?.

45. Which author would you most want to interview?

J.K. Rowling! I would love to just gush about Harry Potter and find out more!

46. Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

Kristy Woodson Harvey. I met her at an author event and she was so lovely!

47.What book have you reread the most?

The Harry Potter books or Marie Antoinette: The Princess of Versailles.

48. Which books do you consider “classics”?

I think of classics as the literary gems identified by i.e. Penguin Classics. But, I think there are many ‘contemporary classics’ in the making.

49. Which books do you think should be taught in every school?

I think school reading lists should incorporate a wide range of literary and contemporary texts, written from the perspectives of very different people. I would advocate for My Name is Leon and The Hate U Give. 

50. Which books should be banned from all schools?

I don’t believe any books should really be ‘banned’. Explicit romance novels, for instance, are texts that I don’t believe should be available in schools because it is not appropriate for children. However, I don’t think books should be banned for any other reason, especially for being controversial or presenting perspectives that go against a school’s religious values. I don’t want any children to have to read things that offend or hurt them, but I think they need to be exposed to all perspectives, ideas and faiths in order to develop compassion and empathy.

Phew! If you get to the end of this massive post then I am impressed. I hope you have enjoyed learning a bit more about me. Let me know if you decide to do this book tag!

Leave a Reply

